TSPE Dallas Engineer of the Year Awards

Do you know someone who should be recognized? Deadline is November 11, 2022.

Nicholas C. Duane, PE

Nicholas C. Duane, PE

2022 Engineer of the Year

SMr. Duane joined BĀSA Resources, Inc. in May of 2005 with a unique combination of over 30 years of diverse reservoir and operations engineering experience. He has managed engineering projects throughout the United States and Canada as well as many international locations while working for Amoco Production Company, Santa Fe Minerals, Inc., Vintage Petroleum, Inc., Oryx Energy Company, and William M. Cobb & Associates.

Mr. Duane employs a reservoir engineering skill set which includes economic analysis, well test analysis, well log analysis, and other techniques to help define and exploit the full economic potential of oil and gas fields. He has demonstrated an ability to economically enhance recovery of oil from older producing fields by carefully describing the reservoir characteristics and using reservoir computer simulation to evaluate the improved effects of water, steam, and CO2 injection.

Mr. Duane graduated from the University of Missouri at Rolla with a Bachelor of Science in Engineering in 1974. He has been the Chairman of the Dallas Section of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and the President of the Dallas Chapter of the Texas Society of Professional Engineers. He is a registered professional engineer in Texas and a member of National Society of Professional Engineers, the Texas Society of Professional Engineers, and the Society of Petroleum Engineers.

View Nicholas Duane's Video Remarks:

Previous Recipients

Year Engineer of the Year Year Engineer of the Year
2021 Ayub Sandhu, PE, RPLS 2020 Caleb Thornhill, PE, ENV, SP
2019 Jennifer M. LaFoy, P.E., CFM, ENV SP 2018 Victor Zepeda, PE
2017 Terry Preuninger, PE 2016 Monica Kent, PE
2015 Brian LaFoy, PE 2014 Ramon F. Miguez, PE
2013 Devarati (Dev) Rastogi, PE 2012 Jean Maier Dean, PE
2011 John Ho, PE 2010 Mark K. Boyd, Ph.D, PE
2009 Roger Behgam, PE 2008 Marshall (Neal) Abernathy, PE
2007 Jeffrey W. Schroeter, PE 2006 Patrick L. Kunz, PE
2005 Elliot Short, Jr., Ph.D, PE 2004 Jill A. Jordan-Hanson, PE
2003 Natarajan Ramanan, Ph.D, PE 2002 Donald Price, Ph.D, PE
2001 Richard Mueller, PE 2000 Oren B. Kesler, Ph.D, PE
1999 David C. Dybala, PE 1998 Charles G. Wilmut, PE
1997 Jack Haston, PE 1996 Arthur F. Beck, PE
1995 Michael J. Masten, PE 1994 James E. Laughlin, PE
1993 Robert Lee Johnson, PE 1992 Philip Charles Crouse, PE
1991 Robert K. Tener, Ph.D, PE 1990 I. Carroll Finklea, PE
1989 Jose I. Novoa, PE 1988 Alberto F. Gutierrez, PE
1987 Jack E. Rosenlund, PE 1986 Gerson Berman, PE
1985 Raymond C. Mason, PE 1984 Joe M. Nall, PE
1983 Robert J. Gary, PE 1982 Sophus A. Thompson, PE
1981 John D. Wisenbaker, PE 1980 Albert H. Halff, PE
1979 M. Lee Halford, PE 1978 Perry G. Brittain, PE
1977 Raymond L. Goodson, Jr., PE 1976 John Roebuck, PE
1974 Charles W. Woolridge, PE 1973 W. Scott McDonald, PE
1970 Henry J. Graeser, PE 1958 Rank W. Chappel, Jr., P
1957 R. M. Dixon 1955 T. Carr Forrest, Jr., PE
1952 W.W. Lynch, PE 1949 O.H. Koch, PE (Man of the Year)